Bout of Books 12.0!

I normally wouldn’t make two posts in a day, let alone within a few hours of each other, but I just noticed that here is a Bout of Books reading challenge starting TOMORROW! I thought about just posting this tomorrow, but I am back at work (after twelve glorious days off) and so I wouldn’t get around to it until the evening and then day one is almost over!

For those who have absolutely no clue what I am talking about here’s the official Bout of Books Website.

I always mean to do these reading challenges, but they always tend to fall to the wayside (Bout of Books, Read Your Bookshelf-a-Thon, Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon), but because I am trying to read a bit differently this year (if that makes any sort of sense) I want to try some of these just to keep a momentum going.

Because it is my first week back at work and I know I will have TONS to do because my classroom just got repainted and I have to get ready for new students, etc… I am not going to go too crazy.Ā  These are the reading goals I would like to reach this week, if possible:

I would like to finish the two books I am currently reading:

bb1

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
I am currently on page 236 of 538 and would like to finish the book this week.

bb2

Bad Feminist: Essays by Roxane Gay
I am currently on page 71 of 318 and would like to finish this book this week.

The next two are both graphic novels that I have out from the library that I would like to read this week:

bb3

Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

bb4

The Gigantic Beard that was Evil by Stephen Collins

This may be a bit ambitious of a TBR for the week, but I am more than willing to try and see how far I get!
Are you going to participate in Bout of Books 12.0?Ā  If so comment down below and let me know your goals for this read-a-thon!

(all images via amazon)

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12.0!

  1. This is a bit off topic, but I’ll be interested to read your opinions on the Wolitzer book. The last work of hers I read was ‘The Ten Year Nap,’ and while the story was interesting (and relevant to my own life in many ways) I found it a real slog to finish. It was a real contradiction for me. If that makes any sense. šŸ™‚

    • A BookTuber (YouTube book fanatic, there are lots of them!) recently hauled it and it sounded interesting so I got it with Christmas gift cards.
      It was a slog at first, and I was really unmotivated to pick it up and read it… the fact that it’s quite a dense book made that worse. However, the other night I picked it up and a few pages further in I got completely sucked it and I am really enjoying it. Granted, I have about 300 pages left, so anything can happen šŸ˜‰
      I’ll be posting reviews of books as I read them (at least that’s the goal) so I’ll be sure to get one up shortly after finishing it.

Leave a Reply

